You’re Not Alone

Anxiety.

What do you think of when you hear that word?

Do you think about the feeling you had before you took that test a few days ago? Do you think about how you felt before you went on that date the other night? Do you think about the feelings you had before that job interview the other day? Do you think about the feelings you had before your big game last weekend?

Sure, those are all anxious feelings, but thats not the kind of anxiety I am talking about.

I am talking about the anxiety that hits at random points of the day for no reason. I am talking about the anxiety that feels like an elephant is sitting on your chest. I am talking about he kind of anxiety that makes you feel almost like you can’t breath. I am talking about the kind of anxiety that throws you into a panic attack. I am talking about the anxiety that creates non-stop racing thoughts to constantly be going through your head. I am talking about the kind of anxiety that sometimes holds you back from the people and the things you love.

I am talking about GAD. General Anxiety Disorder.

According to the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, GAD affects 6.8 million adults every year.

The reason I am talking about this subject is because I am one of the 6.8 million people effected by GAD. This has been something I have discovered in the last two years, but I have definitely had my whole life without knowing it. It is something that can’t be seen on the outside most of the time. It is not like a broken arm or broken leg, which makes it hard. I want to start this blog to help others not feel so alone.

Many of you who don’t suffer from anxiety might not understand how unpleasant it is. In reality, there is more than likely many around you suffering from GAD without you even knowing it. It may be some girl in your chemistry class. It may be a close friend. It may even be a family member. So, for you I am writing this blog to help you be able to better understand it and be able to help those around you who may be suffering.

Follow it.

Help those who are silently suffering.

Help yourself if you are silently suffering.

You are not alone.

Leave a Reply

